NewsApril 25, 2021

Maldives Temporary Bans Indian Tourists From Stays at Guesthouses, Hotels in Local Islands

Due to the surge in COVID-19 cases in India, Maldives will be temporarily suspending Indian tourists for stays at guesthouses and local hotels in residential Maldivian islands.

Under the released order signed by Director General of Public Health Maimoona Aboobakr, the restrictions will take place from 27th April 2021. Indian tourists will also be required to present a negative PCR test when travelling to Maldives.


As per the released travel restrictions order:

  • Travelers from India to Maldives (including those who have spent over 24 hours in transit in India) are required to present proof of a negative PCR test taken no more than 92 hours before when entering Maldives. This includes those who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19.
  • Maldivian citizens and work permit holders who arrive in Maldives from India, including those who have been vaccinated against COVID-19, are required to get a PCR test done within 24 hours upon arrival, and undergo 10 days of quarantine. They will be released from quarantine once they test negative upon completion of the quarantine period. This does not include children under the age of one year.
  • Indian tourists are also required to undergo a PCR test prior to departure from Maldives.

While Indian tourists will no longer be permitted to check in to hotels and guesthouses in residential islands starting April 27, those already checked into hotels and guesthouses will be allowed to stay at such facilities till the completion of their booking duration.

However, this ban does not apply to resorts and hotels located away from the local population.

India was the top source market for tourism in the Maldives in the year 2020 and remains as the top source market even in 2021. According to statistics publicized by the Tourism Ministry, Indian tourists made up 11.3% of total tourist arrivals to the Maldives in 2020.

Maldives reopened borders to all nationalities from 15th July 2020. All visitors are granted a 30-day free on-arrival visa with a confirmed booking for a stay at any registered tourist facility in the country.