NewsMarch 11, 2020

Thailand Cancels on Arrival Visa for 18 Countries, Including India

Thailand on Wednesday (11th March) cancelled the grant of visa on arrival for 18 countries and visa exemption for three others to contain the spread of the COVID-19, the country’s interior minister said.

Previously, nationals of 18 countries or territories could use their passports or travel documents to apply for Visa on Arrival (VoA) at Thai immigration checkpoints.


“People from any country who want to come will need to apply for a visa with our embassies,” Minister of Interior Anupong Paochinda told reporters.

“Thai embassies everywhere will ensure that no sick people will travel to Thailand.”

The 18 places include Bulgaria, Bhutan, China (including Taiwan), Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, Georgia, India, Kazakhstan, Malta, Mexico, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, and Vanuatu.

Visa exemption will be canceled for South Korea, Italy and Hong Kong, the minister said.